About the CDCL 

The CDCL was founded in 1908 and was registered under the Societies Act of Alberta in 1958. The League has been host to Calgary cricket players and fans for over a century, primarily at the picturesque Riley Park and until the 1970’s at Stanley Park.. 

Currently there are three divisions in the league providing the opportunity for eighteen teams to play both recreational and competitive cricket during the summer months. Over 800 players are currently registered with the C&DCL and in recent years an aggressive junior programme has seen over 2,500 Calgary students being exposed to the sport. This has led to the expansion of our Weekday division in 2005 with two high schools fielding teams. This is expected to increase in the coming seasons. The cricket season runs from late May to September each year.

The C&DCL is a part of the Cricket Alberta (CA) which represents Calgary and Edmonton in the Canadian Cricket Association (CCA). Membership in these groups ensure that players and spectators in Calgary benefit from the intern and intra provincial rivalries that exist. Each year there is competition between teams from Calgary and Edmonton. There are also competitions for juniors in the western provinces.

With the growth of the sport, there is increased opportunities for more players, grounds and communities to become involved. Our goal is to manage the growth of the sport and expose more Calgarians to the rules, recreational value and social worth of the sport.

Brief History of Cricket in Calgary 

      1884 – first recorded Cricket game in Calgary – Northwest Mounted Police vs. McLeod.

      1892 – first recorded Calgary vs. Edmonton cricket game.

      1892 – Calgary cricketers riot against Chinese Smallpox outbreak.

      1908 – CDCL formed with four teams

    St. Johns (still in existence)


    Sheep Creek

    Calgary (later became known as Harlequins),

      1908 – Mr. Maurice Carr, first president of CDCL.

      1909 – Cricket being played at Mewata, Western Canada College. St. Johns had a field on Colonel Walker’s land.

      1910 – Riley Park donated to the city by the Riley family.

      1911 - reported so many teams in Calgary, that committee struck to negotiate 5 acre land purchase from city.

      1912 – Western Canadian tournament held in Calgary.

      1913 – visiting Australian cricket team. Matches played at Victoria Park pitch, Aussies given an auto tour of the city and then dinner at Calgary Golf and Country club. Banquet at the Alexandria Hotel, principal speaker was R.B. Bennett, MP

      1914 – First use of Riley Park for cricket.

      1916 – 80+ players from Calgary join WW1.

      1919 – three fields in existence at Riley Park.

      1920 – reported to be 12 teams in the league.

      1921 – Western Canada tournament held in Calgary.

      1921 – Women’s team formed.

      1925 – Ridley College, Ontario visit Calgary.

      1930 – First reported signs of Junior cricket development.

      1932 – Bradman plays in Calgary for visiting Australians – one of the most famous tours in the history of cricket. Over 3,000 watch.

      1937 – First visit to Calgary by MCC.

      1949 – Dominion Cricket tournament held in Calgary (national championship)

      1954 – First known Calgarian to make National team. Mr. H. Bullen.

      1958/9 – Construction of current clubhouse at Riley Park.

      1951 and 1959 – MCC visit Calgary again.

      1961 – Canadian Cricket Championships held in Calgary.

      1964 – Yorkshire, England visit Calgary – game snowed out!

      1965 – Canada vs. USA at Riley Park – oldest international sporting event.

      1973 – Kent, England visit Calgary.

      MCC visit again in 1983, 1990 and 2000.

      1975 – Inter-provincial tournament in Calgary.

      1990 – Canada vs. USA at Riley Park.

      1998 – Only 5 teams in CDCL.

      2009 – 46 teams in CDCL.


About Cricket

The Game

Cricket is a game played with a ball and a bat between two teams consisting of 11 players on each side. It is played on a field with a defined boundary. The center of the field is called the pitch and it is a 22-yard stretch of land where the main action takes place.

There are two umpires in a match. The object of this game is similar to baseball, only the rules are different. The bowler has to throw the ball with a circular motion of the arm i.e. without bending the elbow, and hit the wicket with the ball. The batsman has to protect the wicket, hit the ball with his bat and score runs.

he game begins with all 11 players of the defending team taking their positions somewhere in the field.
One player from the other team, a batsman, stands at the wicket.
When the batsman hits the ball he may run to the other wicket where his partner is standing and his partner may run to the other end of the pitch from which the ball was hit -- this is one complete run.

Taking runs depends upon the batsman and the situation. A maximum of 4 runs can be run on a ball bowled. Other ways of scoring faster is to hit the ball hard enough to cross the boundary for 4 or 6 runs (depending on whether it bounced inside the boundary rope or not respectively).

A batsman can get out if he is bowled, caught, stumped, lbw, runout, hit-wicket, ball-in-hand and timed out. After each over the bowling ends are changed and the fielding is also reversed.

A team has a limit of playing all their 11 players, but a batsman always has to have a partner at the other end. Therefore, after 10 players are out the eleventh player does not have a partner and the innings is officially over. Then the other team bats and tries to chase the target set by its opponent.


The Origins

Cricket is an English game, which originated during the medieval time in England. This game, common only with the nobles and the royal families, was unknown to the rest of the world. During the late medieval period, the expansion of the British Empire all over the world expanded cricket too.

Cricket today is gaining tremendous popularity. In 1996 there were only nine major cricket countries, but today other teams have joined the International Cricket Council [ICC]. According to some sources, during the 18th century, cricket was limited to the southern counties of England, but it was soon discovered by society and brought to London, where a famous match took place between Kent and All-England in 1744.

There are two different types of cricket matches



This is the longer and conventional version of the game. It stretches over a period of 5 days and both the teams play 2 innings (bat and bowl twice each).
Each day a quota of 90 overs is to be bowled unless bad light or weather causes the play to cease. The side batting first will give the opposing side a target to chase. The side bowling first tries to get the other side out quickly so that they can not only achieve the target but also build up a lead for the second innings
The team batting first can force a 'follow-on' under certain given conditions. The captain of a team may decide to declare his team if he feels they have set a good enough target for the opposition.


The ONE DAY (Limited Overs)

Each side has a quota of 50 overs. The match goes on for about eight hours. The team batting first sets a target for the opposing team, which will bat on completion of the 50 overs after a half-hour to 45 minutes lunch break. Each bowler is allowed to bowl a maximum of 10 overs.
The team bowling second tries to get all 10 players of the opposing team out before they score the target set (one run more than the score the bowling team has made). Another way that a team can win is by controlling the run rate, meaning that the team bowling second can win by bowling all 50 overs and not letting the opposition score the set target, by controlling the flow of runs, within the 50 overs


HOME           ABOUT CA           PROGRAMS           MEDIA GALLERY           CONTACT US           OTHER LINKS